The Senior Home Internationals for the Teltscher Trophy

The first Senior Home International was played in Oxford 30th May- 1st June 2008. The national teams of the five countries were joined by a Patron’s team led by Bernard Teltscher, who had agreed to support the event for its first five-year cycle. The Patron’s team could win the event but not the trophy. The winning team was England (Paul Hackett & Ross Harper, Gunnar Hallberg & John Holland, Ian Panto & Tony Waterlow, npc John Williams). The first four of these subsequently became the World Senior Champions the following year in Sao Paulo.

In 2009 the event was again held in Oxford with Scotland winning the trophy. The Patron’s team actually overtook Scotland on the final deal to head the rankings. In 2010 Scotland hosted the event in Ayr with England recording an emphatic win. Wales won for the first time in 2011 and the Great Britain team finished first in 2012 (Scotland winning the trophy). The Republic of Ireland won for the first time in 2014 and retained the title in 2015.

The Venue

Holiday Inn, Edinburgh 

HOLIDAY INN Edinburgh,
132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UA, Scotland.
Direct Tel. 0871 942 9026
Web site

How to Get Involved

Everyone is invited to spectate at the bridge event of the year in Scotland! East District is hosting the Teltscher Trophy. Some of the matches will be featured live on BridgeBase Online (BBO) VuGraph but why not come along to Edinburgh and watch the play in the Open Room?

Tournament Officials

SBU Officials